1493245532284 - Country music songwriting finalists announced

Country music songwriting finalists announced

A Gore father and his daughter have both been nominated for awards at this year’s New Zealand Country Music Awards.

Ron Mitchell has been nominated for his song Gravel Road, while daughter Jenny has also received a nomination for her song So Far.

Mitchell’s performance of the song with fellow musician Mike Hood won her the  Southland Entertainer of the Year at the Southland Entertainment Awards in March.

On her Facebook page, Jenny said she was “excited” to be nominated for the award and “even more excited” that her father had been nominated.

“I feel so lucky to be part of such a special show that celebrates how ridiculously cool original kiwi music is.”

Mitchell was a joint winner of the award last year, alongside Katie Thompson, of Christchurch and Joanne Buchanon, of Invercargill.

Former New Zealand Gold Guitar winners feature in the nominations.

Kaylee Bell, who won in 2007 has won two nominations for songs she has co-written and 2012 winner Kylie Price also gets a nod.

Nominees, in no particular order, are Mal McCallum with After The Storm, Kaylee Bell and co-writer Jerry Flower with Mayday, Kylie Price and co-writer Maddy Parkins Craig with My Love, Lana Doublet with Together Apart, Kaylee Bell and co-writer Ilan Kildron Argylewith Burn Like Summer, Phil Doublet and co-writer Lana Doublet with Suitcase, Russell McKay with You and Veronica Grace Bardsley with Captivating Lover.

The awards are open to all songwriters, but music and lyrics of all entries must be deemed original by the judges.

The New Zealand Songwriters Trust was originally formed to run the MLT Songwriting Awards as part of  New Zealand Gold Guitar week.

In 2011 a new relationships was formed with RIANZ (now Recorded Music NZ) and APRA, which saw the New Zealand Country Music Awards and the MLT Songwriting Awards combined into one night of music, showcasing songwriters and recording artists. 

Songs are judged by a panel of four accomplished music industry representatives. 

The awards night will be on June 1 at the SBS St James Theatre in Gore.